Aldebaran Zeus 3YO Trotter of the Year - January 2022

Aldebaran Zeus T3 – 1.58.7 - $160,170.00 (Muscle Hill USA-Zoia Boko Swe), who was bred and is raced on lease by Aldebaran Park with Danny and Melinda Thackeray and Tracey Cullen, has been crowned the Australian 3YO Trotting Colt of the Year for 2021.

During the season the colt, trained by Brent Lilley and driven throughout the season by Chris Alford, raced 12 times for six wins and five placings and $118,240.00 – a season’s high. Aldebaran Zeus put an exclamation mark on his career when he captured the Group 1 $80,000 Breeders Crown Final at Melton in a track record-breaking 1:58.7 rate for 2240 metres.

He also won the Group 1 $50,000 APTS 3YO Final and finished second in the Group 1 $100,000 Vicbred Final, Group 1 $75,000 Victoria Trotters Derby and Group 2 $30,000 The Holmfield.

Aldebaran Zeus was one of three trotters with close ties to Aldebaran Park that were winners at the 2021 Australian Awards.

Pink Galahs Tr 1.54.2 - $330,174.00, a daughter of resident sire Skyvalley NZ from the mare Sweetasay, was named 4YO Trotting Mare of the Year, while Just A Bit Touchy, the 2YO Trotting Filly of the Year, is out of a mare by Skyvalley NZ.

Pink Galah’s five successes for the season included the Group 1 $50,000 Bill Collins Sprint at Bendigo and the Group 1 $52,000 Darrell Alexander Trotting Championship at Albion Park.

Just A Bit Touchy won four of her nine starts and $77,380 including the Group 1 $100,000 Breeders Crown Final.

Skyvalley NZ, the leading Australian-based trotting sire in 2021, has made a flying start to the new season. His winners include Kyvalley Finn Tr 2.00 - $213,460.00 (Group 3 Hamilton Trotters Cup) and 12 wins, Scenic Sky TR $150,474.00 (Menangle) and 15 wins, Flash Kyvalley Tr 2.00.2 - $90,250.00 (Maryborough) and 13 wins, maiden winner Goodtimedonthesash (Geelong) and Patched (Swan Hill) – 4 wins.

Paris Faith, a four-year-old mare bred and reared at Aldebaran Park, notched her maiden success at Geelong, while Aldebaran Belle NZ, part-owned by Aldebaran Park, won for the seventh time at Maryborough.

Visit our website at

We are “Hot to Trot” at Aldebaran Park.